Faculty Council of Humanities and Social Sciences Meeting

Wednesday, October 6, 2021

The regular meeting of the Faculty Council, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, was held on Wednesday, October 6, 2021 at 1:00 p.m. in A1043 and via WebEx. A list of those present is appended.

1. Land Acknowledgement

Dr. Ailsa Craig provided the Land Acknowledgement We respectfully acknowledge the territory in which we gather as the ancestral homelands of the Beothuk, and the island of Newfoundland as the ancestral homelands of the Mi'kmaq and Beothuk. We would also like to recognize the Inuit of Nunatsiavut and NunatuKavut and the Innu of Nitassinan, and their ancestors, as the original people of Labrador. We strive for respectful relationships with all the peoples of this province as we search for collective healing and true reconciliation and honour this beautiful land together.

2. Approval of the Agenda

Moved and Seconded that the Agenda be approved (N. Catto/K. Simonsen). Carried.

3. Approval of the Minutes

Moved and Seconded that the minutes of the September 15, 2021 meeting be approved (/N. Catto/L. McCarthy). Carried.

- 4. Update from Chair, Curriculum and Programs Committee (2020-2021), (N. Catto), followed by motion(s) listed below:
 - Department of Classics, History and Philosophy Certificate in History and Philosophy of Science and Technology (K. Simonsen; one abstention; carried)
 - Department of Political Science Law and Society Table update (Tabled)

5. Update from Acting Associate Dean, Curriculum and Programs (S. Hoff/)

• Deadline for calendar change proposals Dr. Hoff noted the deadline to submit calendar change proposals is October 29, 2021.

6. Update from Associate Dean, Research (T. Allen)

- Scholarship in the Arts funding email was sent today
- MUN international travel is still on hold
- Save the date for research week November 22-28
- Faculty are encouraged to review the Research Funder Tracker for HSS to learn about funding opportunities (<u>https://www.hss.mun.ca/funding</u>)

7. Dean's Remarks

- Thank you to all involved in the accommodations for students
- Welcome to Charlene Burke, the new Decanal Assistant

• If teaching remotely during the Winter term, accommodation request information can be found at https://www.mun.ca/covid19/faculty-staff/for_instructors.php

8. Greetings from Dr. Vianne Timmons, President

Dr. Timmons's provided the Land Acknowledgement

We respectfully acknowledge the territory in which we gather as the ancestral homelands of the Beothuk, and the island of Newfoundland as the ancestral homelands of the Mi'kmaq and Beothuk. We would also like to recognize the Inuit of Nunatsiavut and NunatuKavut and the Innu of Nitassinan, and their ancestors, as the original people of Labrador. We strive for respectful relationships with all the peoples of this province as we search for collective healing and true reconciliation and honour this beautiful land together.

Dr. Timmons touched on the following:

- The strategic plan, <u>Transforming Our Horizons</u>, is important and we should take steps to move towards it
- Memorial's budget has a cut of \$26 million which would be \$68 million over six years
- Enrolments have increased and retention is up by 5%
- Concerns regarding the state of the buildings were raised by Council members, Dr. Timmons indicated the Arts building is a high priority.
- Tuition has increased; however, students who are enrolled in 2021 will be grandparented in under the old tuition cost.
- Noted upcoming changes to the budget model to be more actively take enrolments into account
- Offered thanks to ASMs for all the work they have done and continue to do in the shifting context and challenges of COVID

9. Adjournment: The meeting adjourned at 2:00 p.m.

Faculty Council – October 6, 2021 Page 3

List of Attendees

Arthur Sullivan (Philosophy), Michael Westcott (History), Sarah Thorne (English), Emma-Jean Thomson (Linguistics), John Babb (MLLC), Arn Keeling (Geography), Pat Dold (Religious Studies), Vaughan Grimes (Archaeology), Anne Thareau (MLLC), Ken Hopkins (Dean's Office), Karin Thomeier (Digital Learning Centre), Kathyrn Simonsen (Classics), Eric Richard (Classics), Jennifer Dyer (Gender Studies), Corey Tate (Gender Studies) Adrienne Peter (Sociology), Jeff Howard (Classics), Courtney Loveless (Gender Studies), Sam Lehman (English), Tana Allen (Dean's Office/Classics), Shannon Hoff (Dean's Office/Philosophy), Ailsa Craig (Dean's Office/Sociology), Barry Stephenson (Religious Studies), Cory Thorne (Folklore), David Hancock (HKR), Hannah Borotsik (Classics), Holly Everett (Folklore), Karen Dobbin-Williams (Nursing), Kate Lahey (Gender Studies), Morgan Manuel (Geography), Myriam Osorio (MLLC), Norm Catto (Geography), Lincoln Addison (Anthropology), Stephan Curtis (History), Dwayne Avery (English), Danine Farguharson (English), Dave Wilson (Science), Andrea Keating (Dean's Office), Christopher Lockett (English), Amanda Bittner (Political Science), Amanda Tiller-Hackett (OEII), Fiona Polack (English), Dominique Bregent-Heald (History), Heather O'Brien (Dean's Office), Liam Swiss (Sociology), Luke Roman (Classics), Matthew Milner (Dean's Office/History), Philippe Basabose (MLLC), Rebecca Newhook (Coop Education), Renee Shute (Dean's Office), Renee Skinner (Registrar's Office), Sarah Gordon (Folklore), Sarah Kueha (Archaeology), Shannon Lewis-Simpson (Archaeology), Stephanie Dohey (English), Walter Okshevski (Education), Wendy Mosdell-Wadman (English), Natasha Farrell (MLLC)

Regrets

Sarah Kuehn (Archaeology) and Jennifer Lokash (English)